navitron

Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever

Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie wanting advice on PV install  (Read 14103 times)
lisyloo

« on: January 31, 2014, 10:25:43 AM »

Hiya - I'm a newbie and I'm looking into a PV install.
Our roof is a bit messy. We have 3 potential places where panels can go.

Main part of the roof (A) which faces SW at 230 degrees.
Gable end (B) which faces SE at 140 degrees.
Another large area (C) which faces SE at 140 degrees but has 2 dormer windows, 1 velux window and no roof space.

I've had 2 quotes so far, plus 1 company walk away (presumably because it's messy).

First quote is 5950 for 6 (Gallium 250W) panels on A, 4 panels on B and 2 on C. This design is aesthetically unpleasing as the 2 panels on C will be different orientations. I believe that B and C will use the same feed to the inverter and there will be lots of DC cable to reach C (It's a 5 bed house).

Second quote is for 8 (Axitec or BenQ) panels on A, 4 panels on B and this company don't recommend having lots of DC cable going to C.
Quotes are 6500 for 12 x 250W panels and 8400 for 12 x 325W panels.

I am waiting for an indicative quote frm another company with micro inverters.