Navitron Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum

HEAT PUMPS & Geothermal Energy => Heat Pumps => Topic started by: rogermunns on December 20, 2010, 09:33:51 AM



Title: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 20, 2010, 09:33:51 AM
Hi all.

Had terrible probs getting pump in well (down 8m) but now got flow through heatpump, no air in water.

Switched on heatpump for first time.

After fiddling about with controller, setting clock, date etc. I finally found that by going into 'timer' I could get some action. That is, lights inside heatpump and a couple of relay clicks.

But then display goes to Eo01

This looks to me like not enough flow going in from well.

Is that right?


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: Dyslexicbloke on December 20, 2010, 02:43:50 PM
Hi,
I had a quick look and cant find a list of fault codes on the web ....
What dose the book say?

Also you will probably have to manually check your flow rates and temperaturs to understand what is going on ..
If the unit thinks there is a problem that is either because there is, or because some sensor / switch isnt working.

There will be several prerequisits that need to be met befoere the unit will run including a minimum crank case temp I would expect.
It is possible it will sort its self out if you leave it powered up for a while.
Are you sure all its valves are open and you have done the initial comisioning that will be required for a new unit?

Al


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: guydewdney on December 20, 2010, 03:35:58 PM
In the '5 version I had, there were requiremnts for flow switches - which were external, and not provided. You could 'short' them out as a test?


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 20, 2010, 08:24:07 PM
E01 is the error code for the heating side flow not working. The system then shuts down.
If you short out that then you will get e02 error - brine side and the system will shut down.

As I said on an earlier post try and find the flow switch wires.
You should find them 2 pairs each . On mine they come up from the bottom of the unit about 20 cms from the casing covering the 4 water pipes.
They are black corrugated sheathing about 15mms diameter containing 2 red wires with the numbers on them in yellow.
They are long enough to reach about 60cms beyond the casing of the unit.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 20, 2010, 08:58:10 PM
I just remembered also getting e01 error with a bit of crud stopping the heating side pump working. Just getting it to move cleared it.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 20, 2010, 09:01:37 PM
Thanks Welshboy

I am mystified.

I have re-checked, definitely no black wires.

My other post today shows pics of my wires. 


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 20, 2010, 09:04:38 PM
I wanted to quickly reply while you were online.

My electrics seem to be ok but I am totally baffled by the lack of instructions how to drive the beast.

I have good flow from the well.

My own flow valve in the well line return works and cuts all power.

How do I then get the machine to go?


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 20, 2010, 09:09:57 PM
  I am convinced they are there - if you look carefully. I will take a pic of mine to show you - will be back in a mo.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 20, 2010, 09:13:08 PM
I think the machine is looking for happy flow valve signals but I do not have flow valves linked into the machine electronics. And I can't do this, at least not until next spring.

With the next ice age due to set in around end Feb 2011 I can see my only hope is to find out how to fool the machine into thinking flows are there.

I've not had anything happen in the heatpump except I've set up date and time and seen some red and green lights. When I fiddled with TIMER button I did see 40deg.C. displayed and a couple of relayclicks, but then the Eo01 message.

Should the light next to the on/off button be red or green?   Do I have to press this button to get green?


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 20, 2010, 09:45:09 PM
These are the two sheaths you should find


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 20, 2010, 09:47:17 PM
If you find them and fool them
Press the button on the control panel and the light should change to green - should then work ok


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 21, 2010, 09:05:37 PM
Welshboy, you have been so good and so patient, but I definitely do not have the wires like yours.

I have studied and checked and rechecked.

I am at a total loss as to know what to do. 


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: guydewdney on December 21, 2010, 09:15:33 PM
on the front panel I had loads of numbered connections - 30 odd iirc. the manual told me what was what - and (for example) 30/31 was flow sensor - these were little screw terminals. Join them together with a bit of random mains rated wire?

I assume you are electrically competant at this stage (ie turn it off first... ;) )


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 21, 2010, 09:44:57 PM
I agree with Guy but have you traced these wires on your system ? I would check them out as I think they are the ones you should be looking for and they will have live ends so should be found for safety


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 21, 2010, 10:02:36 PM
Welshboy - your pic hasn't come out completely and I can't zoom it. Are you pointing to every red wire with 30 on it?


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 21, 2010, 10:05:15 PM
I have seen it now.

These wires go to the top of the board as shown on my other pic. (other posting)


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 21, 2010, 10:09:03 PM
Here are the other ends of those wires:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 21, 2010, 10:16:46 PM
Hmmm
 
Maybe yours is different - I reproduce below Alans posting

My WRB09 pump is several years old. Things may be different
on newer versions

There are two flow switches.

One is wired from Live (terminal 30 ) to 31
and
One is wired from Live (terminal 30 ) to 32

Here variable speed drives are used and external controls are in operation.

Just linking out the flow switches will not allow the heat pump to work.

If you are not using the flow switches then a 230 volt relay is required
with the coil wired from terminal ( PZ pump to Neutral )

One normally open contact wired between 30 and 31
and
One normally open contact wired between 30 and 32

Regards

Alan


Even if you do short them across Alan suggests it will not work - Sorry I cannot advise you.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 21, 2010, 10:32:08 PM
Was there a wiring diagram on the inside of the housing ?


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 21, 2010, 10:52:22 PM
Thanks, I read  Alan's post but I don't know what it means I should do.

Yes there was a diag. on the inside of the lid.

Here is a photo of it


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: guydewdney on December 21, 2010, 11:59:10 PM
looks like 31 and 32 to 30 - jumper them, and see what happens!



Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 22, 2010, 09:46:10 AM
looks like 31 and 32 to 30 - jumper them, and see what happens!


I agree with Guy - I just wanted to confirm the wiring diagram was not different to mine.

On mine the 30 31  and 30 32  lead down into the black sheaths and I simply shorted them the other end as my previous pic shows.
You could do it as Guy says directly


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 22, 2010, 01:36:23 PM
Hello and thanks again to you both;

what I intend doing is to connect a new wire from the empty '30' point three from the right into the empty '31' and '32' positions on the left of the bank.

OK?

When I bought this beast I was clearly naive in that I expected decent instructions to be included and also for it to be a simple plumbing job. I did not expect having to compensate for the unit's shortcomings as supplied.

I am extremely grateful for all of the help and advice from forum members. Without this I would have been utterly lost.

Has an improved written manual been produced? I only have a pdf file, downloaded from Navitron and this is, frankly, useless.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 22, 2010, 01:54:15 PM
Hello and thanks again to you both;

what I intend doing is to connect a new wire from the empty '30' point three from the right into the empty '31' and '32' positions on the left of the bank.

OK?


That is what I would do.
As far as I can see your unit is the same as mine with the exception of missing Flow switch wiring. Effectively doing what you suggest is the same as what I have done with mine by shorting out the ends. You are doing it at source.

Best of luck and let us know how you get on.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: Iain on December 22, 2010, 05:09:56 PM
Hi

Quote
I have good flow from the well.
My own flow valve in the well line return works and cuts all power.
Could you connect your flow switch into the control (30-31 or 30-32) system instead of just cutting the power to the whole unit?

Iain


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 22, 2010, 05:17:22 PM
Iain, thanks for the suggestion. Certainly I could try that on one of the circuits, but then I would still have to short out the other circuit.

I reasoned that the well circuit was the more critical of the two, but as I've learnt a bit more I'm not so sure.

Is the heating circuit number 31?

Any responses to a source of a proper manual for the WRB series?


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 22, 2010, 05:21:36 PM
Iain, thanks for the suggestion. Certainly I could try that on one of the circuits, but then I would still have to short out the other circuit.

I reasoned that the well circuit was the more critical of the two, but as I've learnt a bit more I'm not so sure.

Is the heating circuit number 31?

Any responses to a source of a proper manual for the WRB series?
Is the heating circuit number 31?  yes


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 22, 2010, 05:29:00 PM
Hi

We're getting there, if slowly..................

This time, 31 and 32 connected to 30.

Well water on.

Red light at top next to main switch on console.

Set to heat.

Switch main switch on. Green light.  Two or three relays, slight humming. But nothing else. Turned off after 45 sec or so.

No error messages.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 22, 2010, 05:35:51 PM
Ok
The sequence should be
Green light
House heating pump switches on
Tests for flow (Ok you have fooled it)
Well pump switches on( thats what the system thinks - ie it powers up 32)
Tests for flow(Ok you have fooled it)
Compressor starts up (bit of a Kick start noise)   - this seems to be missing

Try it a few times while I read the manual


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 22, 2010, 05:38:08 PM
What is the ambient temperature and where is your unit ?


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 22, 2010, 05:48:08 PM
From the manual - Trouble shooting


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 22, 2010, 06:03:01 PM
Ambient temp in the basement (where the unit is situated) is 12deg.C.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 22, 2010, 06:19:22 PM
Ambient temp in the basement (where the unit is situated) is 12deg.C.
Ok not a low temperature problem.
You have no error messages and the system has not returned eo01 Heating flow switch or eo02 brine flow switch problems so it looks like you have fooled it.
I would check the compressor wiring/fuse as per trouble shooting manual


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 22, 2010, 06:49:29 PM
What is the ambient low temperature limit? I said 12deg. C. (my measurement)  but the console display says 10deg. C. See pics.

Inside the main unit I have a row of six red LEDs on and one orange LED on                        and a column of four green lights on and two green lights off (see pics).

One thing - with having my flowswitch cutting all power, then I am losing my time and date settings.

BTW I got the temperature monitors from eBay (from Singapore) at less than 1 each delivered. Each one comprises a stainless sensor about 5mm dia x 30mm long, with 40m of wire to a digital display unit. I bought 10 of them and if all put together the maximum spread on indicated temperature is 0,8deg. C.
So not particularly accurate, but then cheap and convenient. Max temperature display = 70deg. C.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 22, 2010, 07:00:53 PM
The default ambient temperature setting is 0.c  ie zero  and the range is from -9 to +9
Looks like you have it set out of range.
Suggest setting it at 0c and try it again


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 22, 2010, 07:11:13 PM
Ah maybe a play on words.
Your display says 10c which is the temperature of the water in the heating side of the heat pump. When it starts working it will rise up slowly until it gets to the control parameter based on the 40c in the pic.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 22, 2010, 09:03:18 PM
Welshboy;

I haven't consciously set ambient temperature at all.  I don't understand this. Surely ambient is ambient and will frequently be over plus  9deg.C, hopefully not below minus 9deg.C.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 22, 2010, 09:25:56 PM
You said "What is the ambient low temperature limit? I said 12deg. C. (my measurement)  but the console display says 10deg. C. See pics."

I misinterpreted that to mean you had set the ambient temperature limit system parameter to 12c.

Please ignore my previous comment.I realised afterwards there was a play on words.

There is an ambient Temperature parameter limit the system monitors which by default is set at 0c . The user can set it between -9 and+9.

The intention is to protect the unit and there is a little heater to heat up the compressor if the real ambient temperature falls below the parameter .
As you have not changed anything it is ok.
Your basement  temperature is12c and the ambient parameter is set at 0c so the heater does not come on and the system should work ok.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 22, 2010, 09:39:36 PM
Just had another go. Same as before.

Is there a detector to prevent start-up if well flow is less than 30litres/min? Frankly I dunno what my flow rate is. Would there be an error message to show this? I assume this isn't linked with the flow switches, which are virtual in my case (and yours?!).

How quickly should the compressor start after switching on the console to green? Does the compressor start, then heating pump? If compressor won't start, does that then also lock out the heating circuit pump?

I have a fuse carrier on the left which is labelled 32A and it has a red light on it. I have never seen that light lit. I have undone the carrier and found a big fat 10A fuse in it. Fuse is good.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 22, 2010, 09:51:42 PM
Ok
The sequence should be
Green light
House heating pump switches on
Tests for flow (Ok you have fooled it)
Well pump switches on( thats what the system thinks - ie it powers up 32)
Tests for flow(Ok you have fooled it)
Compressor starts up (bit of a Kick start noise)   - this seems to be missing

There is no flow rate constraint-  Hmmm not strictly true- if the well flow rate was very low the heat exchanger would freeze up and the system would report an error state.

The compressor  kicks in after both pumps have gone through their testing ok.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 22, 2010, 10:11:33 PM
Just checked mine- There is no red light illuminated on the 32 fuse. when the system is running two red lights are on the timer/clock thing alongside.nothing when off.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: ecogeorge on December 22, 2010, 11:23:45 PM
Have entered this thread at a late stage and not digested it all (how rude!) .
Can you confirm that any pumps are working especially the internal house heating pump ? - my house heating pump was stuck and needed freeing up when first turned on - fooled me for a while.
Will reread the thread and compare your display to mine.
rgds george.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 23, 2010, 07:34:00 AM
my house heating pump was stuck and needed freeing up when first turned on - fooled me for a while.

rgds george.
Yes so was mine stuck - it was your posting about it at the time which I remembered about to fix mine.
Glad you are joining this thread George.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: Iain on December 23, 2010, 08:15:24 AM
Hi
I dont think it is anything to do with the problem, but how is your flow switch wired so that it cuts all the power?
I assume through a relay/contactor, or does it just cut power to the controller. I would still be tempted to wire it in as a propper flow switch to the control panel so that at least the controller is getting one proper input and doesn't just power down when there is a low flow or you switch the pump off. Electronics generally don't like being switched on/off by knocking the power on/off.
Iain


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 23, 2010, 09:46:17 AM
Your unit is slightly different to mine- The layout of the connectors is not the same.

On mine the 31 32 are shorted to a 30 which is Link on the wiring diagram.

Keram Technical said to use 30 link when wiring in a second timer so maybe there is a difference in the 30 connectors not readily apparent from the wiring diagram.

Maybe shorting 31 32 to a different 30 would work ( great if you can work out which one but it looks like you have chinese characters on your wiring diagram) so a bit of trial and error might do it.

There is no mistaking the compressor kicking in if you get that far.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: Mostie on December 23, 2010, 10:02:29 AM
Hi, Roger. Did the the big white contactor pull in? (middle left of the wiring box)


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 23, 2010, 12:17:59 PM
Mostie; no it hasn't pulled in.

Welshboy; do you have a recent contact in Keram Technical? I will maybe have a look into your suggestion about using a different '30' connection.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 23, 2010, 12:43:34 PM


Welshboy; do you have a recent contact in Keram Technical? I will maybe have a look into your suggestion about using a different '30' connection.
Email I received was from

tech@keramheating.com

signed Yang

Hope that helps


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 23, 2010, 04:12:27 PM
Thanks welshboy, I'll maybe contact them


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 23, 2010, 06:10:46 PM
Maybe a number of us have been using a sledgehammer to crack a nut !

If you read the manual it appears you can change the time value of parameter EC07 to ---- which means that flow switch testing is cancelled.

No need to short out anything !


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 23, 2010, 07:55:06 PM
Welshboy - this looks useful information but beyond me as to how you do it.

What do you do?


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 23, 2010, 08:27:03 PM
It is a bit of a black art - go to page 35 of the manual and print it out as it tells you how to get into the parameter changing mode.
You will know when you are "in "as each parameter appears in turn.
I think you press option each time to scroll to the next parameter.
Do not use the time button yet as that is the one that changes the parameter setting.
When you find EC07 make a note of its value and change it by pressing the time button until ---- appears then leave it alone.
By default after a set period (about a minute or so ) it reverts to normal.
Hey presto press the button to change the red light to green and away it should go.
I am assuming you would have removed the shorted wires.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: welshboy on December 23, 2010, 08:47:08 PM
Previous post page 35 is the pdf page 35 -actually printed page 33 shows on the footer.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: SteveH on December 23, 2010, 10:39:35 PM
 Love this forum (& a drink  :-\) Top help WB... Have a CP...


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 25, 2010, 08:01:47 AM
sorry all, not forgotten. But no progress for last couple of days due to Christmas arrangements ...... boring  ............  shopping .......   boring  .............

So no underfloor heating yet, hopefully before New Year.

But Happy Christmas to all and best wishes for the new year to you and yours.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 27, 2010, 01:27:47 PM
It's now Dec 27th pm. Spent morning helping neighbour with burst pipe, now to again tackle the recalcitrant heatpump.......................


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 28, 2010, 12:32:16 PM
28th Dec 12:20 GMT.

It works!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Don't know what I've done different - other than freeing the heating pump (as suggested by several people {{thanks}}).

But I have Error message 04  -  Eo04.

Just looking that up.


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: Alan on December 28, 2010, 02:42:37 PM
1.2.11  OVER-LOADING PROTECTION WHILE HEAT RUNNING(HAIGH TEMPERATURE PROTECTION OF A/C OUT WATER)
While heat running, over-loading can lead to higher A/C temperature. When A/C temperature higher than【EP04】, over-loading protection starts to work.

OVER-LOADING OF COMPRESSOR

Eo:04

OVER-LOADING SWITCH IS OPEN

STOP SYSTEM

PRESS 【RESET】AFTER THE PROTECYION SWITCH IS NORMAL

Have you removed all the air from the cold and hot circuits. ?
The pumps will make burping type noises if air is still in the systems.

Have you got a good electrical supply to the heat pump
capable of supplying 30 Amps.

How much do the lights dim when it starts. If the supply is not good
it wont get up to working speed.

How long does it run before you get the error.

Regards

Alan


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: rogermunns on December 28, 2010, 05:08:39 PM
Thanks, Alan

Sorry not to have got back earlier, story so far is:

I managed to get the HW circulating pump going, helping to purge the U/F loops.

At first I had HP gong but only for 15sec or so before it tripped with Eo04

More fiddling and attempted bleeding and eventually got everything on, Temp. from well = 12.5deg. C, going back to well = 6.7deg. C. Hot water to underfloor got to 35deg. C. Ran  for 15 minutes or so, I turned it off, again, to bleed.

More about the bleeding of the UFH loops. I have had three weeks of frustrating misery with trying to bleed these f***ing pipes. Eventually, using a hose and mains pressure, I got flow through each of the 7 loops. But it had been a right game. I am sure that I still have air widespread in many of the loops.

Turned on after bleeding pipes a few minutes later all power gone.

A 13A fuse is covering all this and this is not tolerant enough. I replaced fuse, went again next time compressor went to start.

Our wiring is temporary in the basement, where the heatpump is. I can't really change it yet - we're waiting (like you always are in France) for the electrician to hard-wire us properly. 

Sorry if this message has been dis-jointed and rambling.

But to summarise; all does seem to be ok but I need to re-inforce the electricity and bleed each loop. I only have proper flow through one of the seven loops.

 


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: ecogeorge on December 28, 2010, 05:16:43 PM
Error 04 is a common overloading of compressor , usually (as you have found) caused by lack of water flow either in the underground loop (your well) or the house circuit. This would have shown as a flow error if you hadn't wired your flow sensors out !!!!!
Don't worry just purge everything and try again. Remember repeated running with poor or no flow to your well may freeze the heat exchanger and they take a while to thaw out  whistle whistle whistle - not that I would ever have done that!


Title: Re: help please! Just turned on WRB09 first time since buying it in 2005
Post by: wrigpm on January 06, 2011, 09:14:15 PM
All

Just to help things along I will share my thoughts/findings!

We have a later version of the WRB09 and the flow switches are built in
We had the same starting problem as Roger - had to adjust the flow switches as they were set to max!
The wiring is essentially the same but the items in the control box are in different places (main PCB is the same though)
Rather than shorting out the inputs/flow switches, you can simply switch the small switches that are below the red row of LED's
All the inputs are low voltage and isolated so should be safe - us caution anyway!
I had the same E04 error - cause was air in the heating side
I have reconfigured the controller to take an external input (to turn the heatpump on/off) on the pin called 'Link' - hence do not use the timer on the heatpump

Hope that helps!

Paul