Navitron Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum

Buying/Selling/Trading => Wanted => Topic started by: noah on December 28, 2016, 02:03:57 PM



Title: G83 switch
Post by: noah on December 28, 2016, 02:03:57 PM
I`m planning on changing the generator on my hydro system and I need a G83 sensor/relay. There was one on ebay about a year ago but they seem to be as available as hens teeth.
It occurs to me that any grid tie inverter will have a G83 circuit included: can anyone advise re using the smallest(cheapest) kit that I could paralel  with a mains relay - or even find a broken one where the G83 bit still works?


Title: Re: G83 switch
Post by: Tinbum on December 28, 2016, 02:28:09 PM
I bought one of these;

https://www.comap.cz/products/detail/mainspro/#

Not cheap, but a nice package that seems to be used in many made up boxes by many companies.


Title: Re: G83 switch
Post by: noah on December 28, 2016, 02:52:56 PM
How much did it cost?
TVR does one for around 400 -


Title: Re: G83 switch
Post by: Tinbum on December 28, 2016, 03:03:26 PM
I'll look for the invoice.

Try;

IPU Group, Churchbridge, Oldbury B69 2AS
T:+44 (0) 121 511 0400
F:+44 (0) 121 511 0430
M:
www.ipu.co.uk


Title: Re: G83 switch
Post by: Tinbum on December 28, 2016, 08:18:06 PM
Having looked back I think it was about 500 inc vat.


Title: Re: G83 switch
Post by: rogeriko on December 28, 2016, 08:51:21 PM
We install those units on our g59 connections of over 16a per phase, they are very expensive and are for 3 phase supplies. Why not just run your hydro system through a single phase grid tie inverter, job done, inverters are cheap on ebay. There is no g83 circuit in an inverter its just various programmable settings that will disconnect if necessary.


Title: Re: G83 switch
Post by: Tinbum on December 28, 2016, 09:21:27 PM
Should do the job,

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ziehl-G59-3-UFR1001E-Electrical-control-box-IP30-single-phase-/172427345144?hash=item2825787cf8:g:O4MAAOSwU-pXvsoB

It looks like a 3 phase unit but the inputs are wired in parallel.


Title: Re: G83 switch
Post by: knighty on December 28, 2016, 11:05:42 PM
I have a G35/G59 relay I bought from guy on here when I had a plan for a system... plan changed so it's spare now, happy to sell it to you for what I paid him for it (100+p+p)

you'll have to give me a while to dig it out tho, I moved and have no idea where it is!


it's a simple relay, doesn't sync you up with the grid etc.. just disconnects you if there's a problem


I was going to use it for a CHP system, synchronize it manually and just have the relay in before the grid connection to keep the DNO happy


Title: Re: G83 switch
Post by: noah on December 29, 2016, 12:18:15 AM
Actually I need 3 phase - monitoring 1 phase is probably 99.9% reliable, but....


Title: Re: G83 switch
Post by: bxman on December 29, 2016, 10:25:08 AM
Is this the same thing
http://www.conrad.com/ce/en/product/196996/Voltagefrequency-monitoring-relay-Ziehl-UFR1001-No-of-relay-outputs-2

http://www.ziehl.com/

as used by I believe Nedap and Victron on some applications


Title: Re: G83 switch
Post by: Tinbum on December 29, 2016, 10:40:56 AM
Yes, I believe so. The eBay ones I linked to are a bargain. Remove the Eaton relay/contactor and replace with a 3 phase version, remove the input phase links and add the other 2 phases, reset the settings, job done. ;D


Title: Re: G83 switch
Post by: knighty on December 29, 2016, 11:55:15 AM
Actually I need 3 phase - monitoring 1 phase is probably 99.9% reliable, but....

it is 3 phase :-)    (I've got 3 phase here and was going to generate 3 phase)


Title: Re: G83 switch
Post by: noah on December 29, 2016, 07:14:58 PM
Knighty -looks like the best/easiest deal - I will PM you.

To all : thanks for feedback