navitron

Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever

Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Installing a 2.5KWWind Turbine  (Read 3715 times)
Alastaid

« on: June 01, 2006, 06:42:41 AM »

Hi,

I am new to all of this but pretty excited at the possibilities.   My overall idea is to ditch the oil fired boiler, replace with a GSHP (see my post in the GSHP section) and install a wind turbine.  I was looking at the 2.5KW turbine,  but there are a few questions:

Is it best to just push all the output to a secondary meter and sell the electricity,  or utilise what you can (domestic consumption and the GSHP) and sell the excess? 

Reading other posts it looks like getting this power inverted (or whatever) to sell is a problem, what do I need to do this?

Also I would like to put the turbine at the bottom of the garden, which is at least 100m from the electricity meter,  is this a problem? 

Do I need planning for the turbine?  If so is there a example of what I am applying for?

Thanks in advance.

Alastair
NickW

« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2006, 11:17:02 AM »

You will certainly need planning permission for a 2.5 kw turbine in view of its size and height.

Ask Questions, look for evidence, think for yourself