navitron

Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address. Following continuous spam/hack attempts on the forum, "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever

Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 ... 11   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: DIY wood burner with boiler???  (Read 61003 times)
Greenbeast

« on: October 17, 2012, 08:26:29 AM »

I'm a trainee bodgineer and i'm refurbing a static caravan on the cheap.
Looking to build my own wood burning stove, and if possible include a water jacket

What thoughts come to mind on possible designs and problems i might have?

Initially thinking of using an old gas cylinder (i built my first forge from one) but then a making a steel plate box from scratch might be more sensible
biff
Global Moderator

An unpaid Navitron volunteer who lives off-grid.

« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2012, 09:17:05 AM »

Good morning Greenbeast,
                         It might be better to buy a second hand stove,something with a proven track record for efficency and safety.There are loads of different type stoves for sale,You could hardly buy the material to makeup a stove for the price you would pay for a decent secondhand one.The safety factor is the all important one and you will need,smoke alarms and fire extinguisher at each end of the static,
  This would be the one of the most important decisions,in your circumstances which needs serious consideration.