navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Cheap brand new ups of use?  (Read 1647 times)
Greenbeast
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2283


WWW
« on: May 09, 2014, 07:56:08 AM »

I have been offered 6 of these:
http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/dell-line-interactive-rack-ups/pd?refid=dell-line-interactive-rack-ups&baynote_bnrank=2&baynote_irrank=0&~ck=baynoteSearch&isredir=true

Brand new and unopened for 50 a piece.

Trying to decide if it's worth getting one or two for my first foray into pv (hopefully still getting some of the broken panels from navi)



EDIT: never mind, they've been snapped up. should not have delayed, could have resold them on ebay for a tidy profit if i didn't actually want them.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2014, 09:31:20 AM by Greenbeast » Logged
biff
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 11910


An unpaid Navitron volunteer who lives off-grid.


« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2014, 09:43:02 AM »

Good morning G/B,
                   Sometimes when you buy a bargain and it lies around taking up space that you need,it becomes a non bargain.
              If they were for ON-Grid use,the dc voltage would not matter but if it were for Off-Grid use,then the dc voltage input is all important.
              The only way to find out the dc voltage is to research them properly.Look up replacements batteries and their specs.
            Then on the other hand,We now know that the UPS suppliers have become rather crafty and have locked timers into the amount of time that the UPS can keep working after Outage,
            This is not a very nice thing to discover when you have gone to the bother and expense of putting a system together which has a nice UPS at the heart of it but find out the hard way,
            that the blasted thing will only run for 20 minutes  on dc and then crash.
                                                                                    Biff
Logged

An unpaid Navitron volunteer,who has been living off-grid,powered by wind and solar,each year better than the last one.
Greenbeast
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2283


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2014, 09:55:32 AM »

very good points biff!
Logged
clockmanFR
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3584



WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2014, 10:52:36 AM »

Its very difficult finding the base battery voltage of most UPS's.

Folk here will say,"the Spec sheet will tell you", nope they do not, so pinch a brain of A UPS man like, 'Andy the Inverter Man' who has loads of stuff and can tell you what is what and what is SELF STARTING, ie will do its stuff without any reference to the mains 220vac.

I use APC make, the Best, and upto 1500va the batteries are 24v, 2000va to 6000va are 48v, Biffs UPS job is 120v.

Andy's site,     http://www.upsshop.plus.com/ he does not always list is S/H stuff.

Ps, Just don't discuss batteries.   Grin
« Last Edit: May 09, 2014, 11:03:07 AM by clockmanFR » Logged

Everything is possible, just give me TIME.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!