navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address. Following continuous spam/hack attempts on the forum, "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Dual electric circuits: Mains & Solar?  (Read 959 times)
Clive F
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 128


« on: August 26, 2015, 04:47:55 PM »

Has anyone with an off-grid electricity source ever wired up their house with dual circuits & sockets, thus enabling some devices to use solar/off-grid and some to use mains/on-grid sources?

E.g. An electric oven/hob to use mains, and a fridge to use solar.

Or has anyone considered it? Is it something worth doing, or does it indicate a lack of commitment?

Pros & Cons?

Perhaps one can even get dedicated dual power source sockets with a switch to select source1 vs source2?
Logged
skyewright
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1769


« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2015, 06:38:36 PM »

Has anyone with an off-grid electricity source ever wired up their house with dual circuits & sockets, thus enabling some devices to use solar/off-grid and some to use mains/on-grid sources?
nowty?

http://www.navitron.org.uk/forum/index.php/topic,25371.msg293099.html#msg293099
Logged

Regards
David
3.91kWp PV  (17 x Moser Baer 230 and Aurora PVI-3.6-OUTD-S-UK), slope 40, WSW, Lat 57 9' (Isle of Skye)
nowty
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1104



« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2015, 10:26:22 PM »

Yep

I have minimal re-wiring, I simply switch existing circuits between grid and off grid. wackoteapot

Some more info on my system here,
http://www.navitron.org.uk/forum/index.php/topic,17834.0.html

Most of my extra wiring is simply to have several extension leads running under my floor and my appliances are plugged in under the floor. I also have a second consumer unit which is automatically switched between grid and off grid depending on the state of the batteries.
Logged

12kW+ of PV installed and 65+ MWh's generated.
Useable home battery storage of 45+ kWh's.
Hot water storage of 15+ kWh's.
Heat storage of 15+ kWh's.
EV BMW i3 (another 30+ kWh's of storage).
6kW Ground source heatpump.
310,000+ litres of water harvested from underground river.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!