navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Odd voltages.  (Read 5398 times)
Scruff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1230



« Reply #30 on: October 14, 2015, 07:28:33 PM »

If you have no earth then it can't work surely because it's open circuit?
Logged
Iain
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 1724


« Reply #31 on: October 14, 2015, 08:17:22 PM »

Hi
Quote
If both came on there was a voltage on both live and neutral with respect to earth..ie no earth/ neutral link.

Thinking about it again!!
the lamps have to be filament lamps and would burn at half brightness with no earth.

live------(Green Lamp)---------Earth--------(Red Lamp)---------Neutral

No Earth Link,  Both equal brightness
N link earth,  Green lamp on, Red off (if the live and neutral have been connected in reverse, red lamp on, green lamp off.

I think that is correct now!! I hope

Iain
« Last Edit: October 15, 2015, 05:28:22 PM by Iain » Logged

1.98kWp PV (11 x Sharp 180 and SB 2.5)
20 x 65mm Thermal and 180ltr unvented
Powervault 4Kw - G200 Lithium-Ion (LiFePO4)
9000ltr rainwater storage   Plymouth
Billy
Guest
« Reply #32 on: October 14, 2015, 09:03:02 PM »

And here's me with the green and red paint adrying on the lamps......   Grin Grin
Logged
jonesy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 839



« Reply #33 on: October 15, 2015, 09:56:40 AM »

If you have no earth then it can't work surely because it's open circuit?
If all loads are disconnected, then yes, or is that yurp, it won't work.
If you do on a suspect installation with loads connected, the mains filters can give enough conduction.

Logged

1.1kWp PV & SB1700. 7kW log burner.
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!