navitron

Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever

Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Using PV to charge campervan leisure battery  (Read 5049 times)
skutter2k

« on: April 02, 2016, 10:00:07 PM »

Hi,

I'm new to the world of PV and interested in finding a solution to top up / maintain my campervan leisure battery. I am aware of the various fitters out there but very sceptical of the huge variances in price and quality so I am weighing up the options and considering doing it myself. So, what am I trying to achieve?

I would like to fit a system that would keep the leisure battery topped up when the van is parked up outside the house and which I can then use to help keep the battery going while "wild camping".

What I envisage is a panel mounted on the roof that is flat when parked outside the house (I don't really want people to see it and it only needs to trickle charge the battery at this point) which I will then lift up to face the sun when I get to a camp site (I presume this will help increase the output).

I presume I will need a panel and some kind of charging system (12v). The van already has a charging system from the alternator (woefully inefficient and noisy) and from the mains hookup when available.