navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address. Following continuous spam/hack attempts on the forum, "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Using a Leaf Battery to feed an inverter?  (Read 4599 times)
Westie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 611


« on: May 13, 2016, 07:13:58 PM »

Just wondering.....

The Leaf traction battery is around 350-400V DC which seems to be within the max DC string voltage for an SMA TL4000-21. So if islanding mode was enabled on the inverter and the mains incoming fuse was pulled and the panels were disconnected from the  inverter,  could you connect both the inverter string inputs to the battery to give you emergency power for the house???




Logged

4kwp south facing array  SMA 4000TL grid connected.  2x30tube Navitron solar thermal panels (east/west). Arada 5kw S/C WBS. 25000Ltr underground rain water tank. KTM E-Bike  Cool
billi
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9073



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2016, 07:17:48 PM »

No







cause  for a Gti  you need mains power to synchronize
« Last Edit: May 13, 2016, 07:20:59 PM by billi » Logged

1.6 kw and 2.4 kw   PV array  , Outback MX 60 and FM80 charge controller  ,24 volt 1600 AH Battery ,6 Kw Victron inverter charger, 1.1 kw high head hydro turbine as a back up generator , 5 kw woodburner, 36 solar tubes with 360 l water tank, 1.6 kw  windturbine
Countrypaul
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714


« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2016, 07:44:32 PM »

Why does it need to synchronise since he has islanding enabled?
Logged
Westie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 611


« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2016, 07:48:15 PM »

No


cause  for a Gti  you need mains power to synchronize

Hmmm... I thought you could enable the TL4000-21 for off grid operation???

http://files.sma.de/dl/7910/SB-OffGrid-TI-en-42.pdf

Logged

4kwp south facing array  SMA 4000TL grid connected.  2x30tube Navitron solar thermal panels (east/west). Arada 5kw S/C WBS. 25000Ltr underground rain water tank. KTM E-Bike  Cool
billi
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9073



WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2016, 09:23:04 PM »

 if you  connect  a GTI  to a  battery directly ( but this is not proven science )   it will work !

But a Sunny  Boy  will not  work  without any other AC power source  , it will do nothing cause shout down 

But not an expert on this  .... just  knowing that  the Sunny boy has to switch off   in case of a power cut   , if you manage to create an alternative Grid   then it seems  ok to me 



Billi

Logged

1.6 kw and 2.4 kw   PV array  , Outback MX 60 and FM80 charge controller  ,24 volt 1600 AH Battery ,6 Kw Victron inverter charger, 1.1 kw high head hydro turbine as a back up generator , 5 kw woodburner, 36 solar tubes with 360 l water tank, 1.6 kw  windturbine
baker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 320


« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2016, 09:37:09 PM »

what about the 80kw feed  to  a 4kw mppt    sh*tfan
you could be  ,at risk
   
baker
Logged
baker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 320


« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2016, 09:51:44 PM »

you need to feed under 4 kw to the inverter at the working voltage  around 200.300vdc
with the Nissan batteries this may difficult
but a idea
baker
Logged
billi
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9073



WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2016, 09:57:14 PM »

where is the difference  of a 80 kW and a say 8 kW battery ?
Logged

1.6 kw and 2.4 kw   PV array  , Outback MX 60 and FM80 charge controller  ,24 volt 1600 AH Battery ,6 Kw Victron inverter charger, 1.1 kw high head hydro turbine as a back up generator , 5 kw woodburner, 36 solar tubes with 360 l water tank, 1.6 kw  windturbine
rogeriko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1445



WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2016, 10:07:33 PM »

The GTI will only take 4kw or whatever its rated max output is. it will run for hours at maximum power output until the battery voltage reaches the lowest cut off voltage on the GTI then it will stop. In other words it will kill your batteries dead unless you provide other circitry to disconnect the batteries. This is how all these new battery backup systems work all they are is a set of batteries inbetween your panels and the GTI.   A GTI is not a standalone inverter it cannot generate 50hz on its own it gets its frequency from the grid, take away the grid and it stops. You need a Sunny Island or similar off grid inverter to create the 50hz grid then the GTI will work with that grid. All you are doing by turning off the anti islanding is telling the GTI to work with any grid be it sunny island or mains grid. Normally with anti islanding on the GTI will only work with the mains not with another inverters grid, the GTI can tell the difference!!
Logged

Scruff
Guest
« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2016, 10:16:45 PM »

the GTI can tell the difference!!

How? Can it smell the THD?
Logged
rogeriko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1445



WWW
« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2016, 10:21:49 PM »

Its something to do with the impedance of the long mains wire all the way back to the generators. All i know is that is what it does. I have installed many off grid systems, see my signature, and in order for the GTI to connect to a local grid you have to turn off anti-islanding.
Logged

oliver90owner
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2261


« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2016, 10:42:05 PM »

Apart from the above, removing the mains supply fuse is illegal and that will not necessarily protect any linesmen working on what they think should be a dead line.  You would need a proper change-over switch for that.
Logged
baker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 320


« Reply #12 on: May 14, 2016, 09:29:59 PM »

about 72kw doing the maths/ crunching the numbers
So do you think you can connect 80kw of pv to a 4kw gti
baker
Logged
rogeriko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1445



WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 14, 2016, 11:11:09 PM »

about 72kw doing the maths/ crunching the numbers
So do you think you can connect 80kw of pv to a 4kw gti
baker

Of course you can as long as you dont exceed the max voltage. You will only get 4kw output so its rather pointless but the inverter will limit itself no matter what the available input
Logged

billi
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9073



WWW
« Reply #14 on: May 14, 2016, 11:36:23 PM »

Quote
So do you think you can connect 80kw of pv to a 4kw gti
baker


 sounds  wasteful  ...  i think you meant 80 kw  battery ...

Oh Roger  was faster
 

Logged

1.6 kw and 2.4 kw   PV array  , Outback MX 60 and FM80 charge controller  ,24 volt 1600 AH Battery ,6 Kw Victron inverter charger, 1.1 kw high head hydro turbine as a back up generator , 5 kw woodburner, 36 solar tubes with 360 l water tank, 1.6 kw  windturbine
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!