navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Apple Airport Express: running costs?  (Read 7724 times)
chasfromnorfolk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 582


« on: December 13, 2016, 11:22:55 AM »

Made redundant by the delivery of a new router, I disconnected an Airport for the first time in about 4 years and discovered it was running surprisingly hot.
Assuming this to be normal (the other one in the house is hot too, I now discover) it rather begs the question: how much are these little 'wall heaters' costing to run p.a.?

Anyone know? Model A1264 in case it's relevant. Whatever it is, I'm pleased to have halved consumption... they're on 24/7.

Chas
Logged
sam_cat
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2016, 03:04:18 PM »

Made redundant by the delivery of a new router, I disconnected an Airport for the first time in about 4 years and discovered it was running surprisingly hot.
Assuming this to be normal (the other one in the house is hot too, I now discover) it rather begs the question: how much are these little 'wall heaters' costing to run p.a.?

Anyone know? Model A1264 in case it's relevant. Whatever it is, I'm pleased to have halved consumption... they're on 24/7.

Chas

Invest in one of those Kill-A-What plug through meters, it will tell you how much is being used on a per device basis.. Great for finding out which devices are 'naughty'
Logged
jonesy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 807



« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2016, 08:42:06 PM »

The quick and dirty and usually pretty close way to get an idea of cost is to look at the power consumption stamped on the adapter, and that is the cost in £ each year. So if it states 5W, that's  £5 pa.
Logged

1.1kWp PV & SB1700. 7kW log burner.
chasfromnorfolk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 582


« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2016, 11:18:32 AM »

Thanks, both. - a quick eBay search has meters at a tenner or so, so that looks like a useful bit of kit to be had.

No wattage on the unit or packaging, but a .2A rating(declared)  at 240v is 48 watts? So, more like £50 pa?
I'll bung the meter on the other one asap.

Chas
Logged
jonesy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 807



« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2016, 03:58:08 PM »

I'd think it's closer to 5W, else you'd burn your hand.  All the energy consumed ends up as heat.
There are 2 things to consider with these plug in power meters; it's really quite tricky to produce a meter that is accurate at say 10W and also at 3000W. There's also a bunch of meters, usually the cheap ones, that don't measure power in watts.  They measure VA, often mis-labelling it as watts. The result is a reading significantly higher than reality for a lot of modern appliances.
If you have an old fashioned 15W lamp, like those used in ovens, see what that reads. If you then plug in a 15W rated router and it reads 30W then you know your meter is junk.
Logged

1.1kWp PV & SB1700. 7kW log burner.
smegal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1464



« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2016, 04:23:36 PM »

Thanks, both. - a quick eBay search has meters at a tenner or so, so that looks like a useful bit of kit to be had.

No wattage on the unit or packaging, but a .2A rating(declared)  at 240v is 48 watts? So, more like £50 pa?
I'll bung the meter on the other one asap.

Chas

I'd hope that the amperage shown will be at the DC voltage (12?)
Logged

When youíre thirsty, itís too late to dig a well. - Unknown
TheFairway
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 732


« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2016, 08:17:56 PM »

Its about 2-3W / 6VA - not static but it was starting up. So long since i used it, it failed to get full network connection.

Not sure what version - text to small to read. But i think its the same model by sounds of it.
Logged

3.995kWp SE PV. 5kW Burley Hollywell woodburner. Vent-Axia Sentinel Kinetic Plus MVHR

All posts are my own personal thoughts and opinions and do not represent those of my employer, clients or partners.

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!