navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Growatt SP2000 wired CT.  (Read 4204 times)
Tinbum
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1024


« on: June 28, 2017, 09:39:31 AM »

Would anyone have a spare Growatt SP2000 wired CT that they are not using that they are willing to sell?

 (As, in my setup, everything is in one place there is no point in me using a wireless one and my secondhand unit came without the wired one).

Alternatively could  anyone photograph theirs so I could make one.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2017, 09:46:01 AM by Tinbum » Logged

85no 58mm solar thermal tubes, 28.5Kw PV, 3 x Sunny Backup 5048, 3x Sunny Island 5048, 2795 Ah (135kWh) (c20) Rolls batteries 48v, Atmos wood gasification boiler, Brosley wood burner, 2000lt buffer tank and 250lt DHW
Mike123
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 87


« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2017, 03:13:18 PM »



Logged
sam_cat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 118



« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2017, 03:16:20 PM »

Googling for the numbers on thh case (  LEM Top 90-S/SP2 )  I turn up this:

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/current-transducers/7934632/

BUT the part number bottom left differs..

What connector is on the other end, and can you make out which wires go where?
« Last Edit: September 18, 2017, 03:18:14 PM by sam_cat » Logged
Tinbum
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1024


« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2017, 04:06:58 PM »

Thank you both.

I did actually manage to get a photo of one but didn't know which terminals were used on the RJ45 plug.  I also found that link on the RS website and noted the difference. Possibly the wire length?

I inquired with a seller on Ebay that was selling an alternative for larger diameter cables but he couldn't help other than suggest contacting Growatt.

I did and after about 10 days (last week) one arrived in the post FOC.

I'm a little surprised that it is in fact just the CT (and long cable) grafted onto a short bit of Ethernet cable with an RJ45 on the other end all covered in heat shrink. Perhaps the internal cores won't  connect very well inside an RJ45 itself. Oh and I think its the brown and orange (B) that are used.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2017, 04:10:38 PM by Tinbum » Logged

85no 58mm solar thermal tubes, 28.5Kw PV, 3 x Sunny Backup 5048, 3x Sunny Island 5048, 2795 Ah (135kWh) (c20) Rolls batteries 48v, Atmos wood gasification boiler, Brosley wood burner, 2000lt buffer tank and 250lt DHW
Mike123
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 87


« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2018, 05:28:08 PM »

I took one apart just now

Indeed the RJ45 Orange is connected to the CT Clamp's white/black wire
The RJ45 Brown is connected to the CT Clamp's black only wire

I am told, and it seems true through testing, that at the SP2000 end, the RJ45 socket pins 1-4 are all connected together, and pins 5-8 are all connected together, so...

As I have a very long run (70 metres!) between my clamp and SP2000, I have re-done the CT Clamp cable so that the 1st 4 wires are connected to white/black, and the 5th-8th wires are connected to black, which I hope will allow the clamp's voltage to travel further and therefore be more accurate. I've also shorted the clamp's cable to about 20cms
Logged
linesrg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 708



WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2018, 12:23:24 AM »

Mike123,

I don't suppose you did a before and after resistance test for this CAT5 cable? Looking at the specifications for the RS supplied CT identified above up to a current of 60A the resistance doesn't make a great deal of odds whether 4 or 50ohms but above 60A and substantial differences arise.

My Growatt CT cable run is only 25 metres on the end of the CT c/w original wiring. I wired up the Growatt and inverter where it is deliberately to reduce this distance.

Regards

Richard
Logged

16 BP380 on a Lorentz ETATRACK1000/SB1700, 16 Chinese 80W/SB1700, 16 BP380/SMA SB1700. CTC GSi12 + Ecosol + Flowbox 8010e/Gledhill ASL0085 EHS/3 Navitron 4720AL solar ET panels and Immersun T1060/ T1070/ T1090. 7 Tianwei 235W/ Aurora PVI 3.6kW/ Growatt SP2000 c/w 5kWhr battery and a Renault Zoe
Mike123
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 87


« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2018, 10:17:55 AM »

Hi

I didn't

I don't ever import that much

It's really as a test, as I have more than one SP2000, so I can compare the two clamps

I find that it is accurate enough when importing or exporting over about 6 amps. But when it's below that, and especially so nearing zero imp/exp it isn't accurate at all. eg The SP2000 considers I'm at 0 imp/exp but in reality I'm still importing 4 amps

We'll see as I'm gonna install it today
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!