navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Low Generation  (Read 1954 times)
sam_cat
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 54



« Reply #30 on: July 13, 2017, 02:52:23 PM »

Standard.

Any idea what work the did?
Logged
RIT
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1296


« Reply #31 on: July 13, 2017, 05:20:01 PM »

Standard.

Any idea what work the did?

My bet at the moment is that the inverter was cutting out due to over generation/running temp, so they removed 2 panels from each string Smiley
Logged

Why bother? - well, there is no planet B
Sean
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 643


« Reply #32 on: July 13, 2017, 05:35:07 PM »

My bet (assuming the inverter is correctly configured) is that the AC cable is inadequately sized, and lots of solar has been, and continues to be installed very locally - and the logs will show lots of AC over voltage errors/restarts.
Logged
Iain
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539


« Reply #33 on: July 13, 2017, 05:59:06 PM »

Hi
Quote
.
My bet (assuming the inverter is correctly configured) is that the AC cable is inadequately sized, and lots of solar has been, and continues to be installed very locally - and the logs will show lots of AC over voltage errors/restarts.

But both OC string voltages are low, so it must point to a problem on the roof
There might be other problems as well, but the voltages point to the roof


Iain
Logged

1.98kWp PV  (11 x Sharp 180 and SB 2.5)
20 x 65mm Thermal and 180ltr unvented
9000ltr rainwater storage   Plymouth
http://www.bdpv.com/fiche_utilisateur_en.php?util=iain
http://www.sunnyportal.com/Templates/PublicPageOverview.aspx?plant=cba8d47f-bf09-4533-a105-4303b353f20f&splang=en-US
Sean
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 643


« Reply #34 on: July 13, 2017, 08:28:19 PM »

Hi
Quote
.
My bet (assuming the inverter is correctly configured) is that the AC cable is inadequately sized, and lots of solar has been, and continues to be installed very locally - and the logs will show lots of AC over voltage errors/restarts.

But both OC string voltages are low, so it must point to a problem on the roof
There might be other problems as well, but the voltages point to the roof


Iain

They've probably just bypassed a couple of panels.
Logged
Stugadget
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27


« Reply #35 on: July 14, 2017, 08:47:30 PM »

My bet (assuming the inverter is correctly configured) is that the AC cable is inadequately sized, and lots of solar has been, and continues to be installed very locally - and the logs will show lots of AC over voltage errors/restarts.

Sorry not that, inverter 2 metres away from incoming mains.
Logged
RIT
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1296


« Reply #36 on: July 15, 2017, 12:19:15 AM »

My bet (assuming the inverter is correctly configured) is that the AC cable is inadequately sized, and lots of solar has been, and continues to be installed very locally - and the logs will show lots of AC over voltage errors/restarts.

Sorry not that, inverter 2 metres away from incoming mains.

Sean's comments are more about the external mains supply, where too many PV installations could raise the local mains voltage to the point of causing inverters to shut down. The installed inverter seems to only display an error light while the issue/error takes place so you would need to access the internal error log which needs the correct cable and software.
Logged

Why bother? - well, there is no planet B
Iain
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539


« Reply #37 on: July 15, 2017, 05:59:58 AM »

Hi
I do find it strange the quite a few are saying it is an inverter fault or mains side wiring.
The first post gives OC voltages that are totally wrong for the number of panels, the OC voltages are normally taken with the wiring disconnected from the inverter. Surely the first step is to investigate the "Roof panels, connections and wiring to find out why those readings are wrong. Once that is sorted if there are further faults, i.e. Overvoltage,  they can be investigated. But from those measurements already taken, the "roof" side at least needs sortong/ investigating first

Iain
Logged

1.98kWp PV  (11 x Sharp 180 and SB 2.5)
20 x 65mm Thermal and 180ltr unvented
9000ltr rainwater storage   Plymouth
http://www.bdpv.com/fiche_utilisateur_en.php?util=iain
http://www.sunnyportal.com/Templates/PublicPageOverview.aspx?plant=cba8d47f-bf09-4533-a105-4303b353f20f&splang=en-US
Sean
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 643


« Reply #38 on: July 15, 2017, 09:13:11 AM »

My crystal ball has lost interest  surrender
Logged
Stugadget
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27


« Reply #39 on: September 08, 2017, 07:07:08 PM »

Been back to site.

Removed all modules and tested each one.

All were showing a VOC of around 36 Volts which I still feel is low. I have email Suntech support to see what they have to say.

Earlier on the thread someone mentioned accessing the fault log on the inverter using a cable and software does anyone know where I can download the software and buy the cable ?

Thanks

Stu
Logged
omega1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #40 on: September 09, 2017, 11:32:40 AM »

Hi The manufacturers software is called Aurora communicator.
I am using version 2.10.1 which I understand is the latest version.
If you PM me I can email you a copy of the program or you can download it from the Abb site who have taken over Aurora. I think the version on the Abb site is an earlier version for some reason.
I  modified a cat 5 cable  (1 twisted pair and an earth wire)  and bought a  usb to rs458 _232 converter to monitor the inverer.
You will need the drivers for the converter as well as the inverters software.(win 10 will probably set up the pseudo serial port and install drivers automatically when the converter is plugged into a usb port)
I would reccommend that the converter uses a FTDI chipset as it appears some other versions dont play nicely.

Good luck
Logged
Westie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 212


« Reply #41 on: September 09, 2017, 11:34:23 AM »

Been back to site.

Removed all modules and tested each one.

All were showing a VOC of around 36 Volts which I still feel is low. I have email Suntech support to see what they have to say.

Earlier on the thread someone mentioned accessing the fault log on the inverter using a cable and software does anyone know where I can download the software and buy the cable ?

Thanks

Stu

Did you check the panels I sc at the same time?
Logged

4kwp south facing array  SMA 4000TL grid connected.  2x30tube Navitron solar thermal panels (east/west). Arada 5kw S/C WBS. KTM E-Bike  Cool
Stugadget
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27


« Reply #42 on: September 09, 2017, 01:15:39 PM »

Been back to site.

Removed all modules and tested each one.

All were showing a VOC of around 36 Volts which I still feel is low. I have email Suntech support to see what they have to say.

Earlier on the thread someone mentioned accessing the fault log on the inverter using a cable and software does anyone know where I can download the software and buy the cable ?

Thanks

Stu

Did you check the panels I sc at the same time?

Yes it was 5.24 Amps which is spot on
Logged
Stugadget
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27


« Reply #43 on: September 09, 2017, 05:05:17 PM »

Hi The manufacturers software is called Aurora communicator.
I am using version 2.10.1 which I understand is the latest version.
If you PM me I can email you a copy of the program or you can download it from the Abb site who have taken over Aurora. I think the version on the Abb site is an earlier version for some reason.
I  modified a cat 5 cable  (1 twisted pair and an earth wire)  and bought a  usb to rs458 _232 converter to monitor the inverer.
You will need the drivers for the converter as well as the inverters software.(win 10 will probably set up the pseudo serial port and install drivers automatically when the converter is plugged into a usb port)
I would reccommend that the converter uses a FTDI chipset as it appears some other versions dont play nicely.

Good luck
Thanks for the info, I have seen an adaptor on Amazon and that has 5 connections TX + TX - RX + RX - and GND and you mentioned one pair ? Do you have the pin outs from the RJ45 cat5 cable to the RS485 interface ?

Thanks Stu
Logged
bxman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 568


« Reply #44 on: September 09, 2017, 06:53:26 PM »

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_sacat=0&_nkw=usb+to+rs485+converter&_sop=15

they were 2.50 +  3 or 4 years ago and work fine  only 2 wires needed unless you  link 2 or more inverters when you need a earth between them 
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!