navitron

Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever

Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Dissertation Research on hybrid solar-wind system  (Read 1015 times)
Matthew101

« on: April 24, 2019, 08:10:55 PM »

Hello everyone,

I am currently a final year student doing my dissertation on a hybrid renewable energy system design and evaluation in the UK, would appreciate if you guys could give me some feedback on issues I am currently having. Firstly the system I want to install is a 2.5kw wind turbine with a 3kw pv system connected to the grid (to meet my annual load). I am wondering what would a system spec look like for this? how many inverters would I need? if anyone could give me some starting points It would be appreciated as I am struggling as to where to start.

Many Thanks
Matthew.
Ted
Global Moderator

« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2019, 09:31:47 AM »

Hi Matthew, and welcome to the Forum.

It sounds like you would have two essentially separate systems, one for the turbine and one for the PV, so each would have its own inverter.

There are initial issues with assessing the suitability of your location, sorting planning permission/permitted development, getting DNO approval for going above 3.68kW export capacity, and so on.