navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Sterling Pro Combi inverter problem...  (Read 2497 times)
neanderthal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« on: July 23, 2019, 08:39:40 AM »

Hi - just wondering if anyone has any ideas....
After running more or less non-stop for five years my inverter wont start. It was switched off as per usual while I was away. When switched back on with the remote all the lights come on briefly as they should - then nothing! Any thoughts would be much appreciated! Thanks
Logged
Scruff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1230



« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2019, 02:14:16 AM »

Entropy of a low build quality, they're made of jank.
Logged
Scruff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1230



« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2019, 02:27:46 AM »

Check output fuse...if it has one..
Logged
neanderthal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2019, 11:11:28 PM »

Hi Scruff - thanks for your response ! It may well be an entropic inverter but it was of an unknown age when i bought it and it ran the whole house for five years pretty much non-stop so I confess to developing a soft spot for it ! What baffles me is why it packed up when it wasn't being used rather than  blowing up spectacularly when the hairdryer and the immersion were on at the same time!
What would you recommend as a replacement in the 5 or 6kw range?
Cheers, Tim
Logged
Scruff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1230



« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2019, 03:35:26 AM »

I'm only buying used Studer these days.
I landed an AJ 1300-24 for 250 with a 100 refund for transit brutalisation through lack of padding.

I have to replace the end caps and some crushed fans.

13 years old, fullov sawdust and laughs at 2kVA.


If you aren't seeing 230Vac 10% at the output terminals, and it has no or a working output fuse.  Renew the gawd awful mid-sized electrolytic capacitors inside or send it to a specialist
Logged
Scruff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1230



« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2019, 10:43:04 PM »

Logged
daveluck_uk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 105


« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2019, 08:20:18 AM »

Oooohhhhhh....looking forward to this being available. Love morningstar  and their people are fantastic. They answer questions fully and offer up suggestions. Unlike Studer...blood out of a stone is the phrase that springs to mind when trying to get technical assistance.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!