navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address. Following continuous spam/hack attempts on the forum, "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: has anyone repaired a Solar Immersion III  (Read 642 times)
mccltd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 106



WWW
« on: March 29, 2020, 02:27:52 PM »

My solar immersion III has decided not to give an output anymore.
all menus working fine and it even comes up diverting when I have excess power but it doesn't switch the output on.
Just wondering if anyone else has had a similar problem and repaired it.
Can only be some component gone pop but which one?
Logged
Antman
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2031


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2020, 02:49:26 PM »

Not familiar with this unit but check first that the safety overload thermal cutout on the immersion has not tripped to give an open circuit load.

If the SI3 output has failed then most likely the SSR solid state relay (or triac output depending on how designed) has gone o/c.

Regards
Antman
Logged

20 x 47mm, 172 l cylinder, Heat Dump, 15 x Sanyo HIT-H250E, SB4000TL,  Nestor Martin IQ13 WBS
DIY Solar System Support at http://www.handyantman.co.uk/antman.html
All support is voluntary and free of charge. I'm not employed by Navitron so responses may not be same-day
mccltd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 106



WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2020, 05:14:43 PM »

Thanks just checked the solar immersion itself and disconnected the immersion from the output.
In normal state with no load attached the outputs sitting at 240v but as soon as I put any load on it and switch the override on there's no output.
shame to through it away for something that probably costs pence to replace.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!