navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address. Following continuous spam/hack attempts on the forum, "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: S plan switching  (Read 1323 times)
Handyman Essex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« on: September 12, 2020, 05:30:59 PM »

Can I have your thoughts on this.


Thank
Chris
Logged

TT
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 372


« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2020, 06:14:23 PM »

What’s the issue
https://heatingcontrols.honeywellhome.com/professional-zone/resource-centre/Wiring-Diagrams/
Logged
Handyman Essex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2020, 06:32:06 PM »

What’s the issue

No issue just want to know if anyone can see any problems before I start to wire it up.
Logged

desperate
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3590


Backache stuff!!


WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2020, 06:36:14 PM »

Nope, "s" plan is lovely and simple , basically just 3 switches in series.

Desp
Logged

www.jandhbuilders.co.uk

still a crazy old duffer!
marcus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 420


« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2020, 08:07:13 PM »

looks ok to me - I'm assuming the two square boxes at the bottom are programmer/time/manual switches, and that junction '10' in the wiring centre is "demand heat" to be wired to pump and/or boiler.
Logged
Alan D
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 140


« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2020, 10:07:42 PM »

Drawing shows boiler / pump / time switch that your drawing does not.

Some controllers are linked / pre wired from the internal live supply to the common
of the heating and hot water.

Others you have to wire a cable from the internal live supply to the common
of the heating and hot water.


* S-Plan-Wiring (1).gif (20.14 KB, 512x476 - viewed 126 times.)
« Last Edit: September 13, 2020, 04:15:53 AM by Alan D » Logged
Antman
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2043


WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2020, 09:48:27 AM »

You don't say what the boiler is. Most modern boilers require the pump to be wired direct to the boiler to enable pump over-run; otherwise the boiler HE can overheat due to heat-soak after shut-down. If that is the case, with S-Plan you need a bypass valve or bypass rad to allow flow when the zone valves are closed.
Antman
Logged

20 x 47mm, 172 l cylinder, Heat Dump, 15 x Sanyo HIT-H250E, SB4000TL,  Nestor Martin IQ13 WBS
DIY Solar System Support at http://www.handyantman.co.uk/antman.html
All support is voluntary and free of charge. I'm not employed by Navitron so responses may not be same-day
Handyman Essex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2020, 10:22:00 AM »

Thanks guys,

Just to clarify no boiler control / no pump over run.

I just need the the thermostat to operate the relevant valve. 

The boiler is a self contained pellet boiler.

the 2 switches are just basic on/off for the relevant valve.

Not sure about junction '10' Sad

Thanks Chris
Logged

Alan D
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 140


« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2020, 10:33:54 AM »

If you are starting / stopping boiler manually then your drawing will work.
No connection to terminal block 10 apart from the Orange cables from the
zone valves. Then in the future the system is available for starting / stopping boiler.
Logged
desperate
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3590


Backache stuff!!


WWW
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2020, 01:38:12 PM »

If you are not using the orange wires at terminal 10 as a call for heat I would not connect the grey wires from the valves to terminal 1. No point in having live wires floating around if they are not needed. You could just buy 3 wire  valves instead, I think they are a bit cheaper.

Desp
Logged

www.jandhbuilders.co.uk

still a crazy old duffer!
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!