navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address. Following continuous spam/hack attempts on the forum, "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Mobile phone “repeater”  (Read 331 times)
Photosolo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 55


« on: September 15, 2020, 11:12:35 AM »

Our place has poor mobile phone signal Which I quite like most of the time. However there’s times when I really need to check something and can’t. The result is a 20 minute drive to find a goods spot. That gets a little rubbish after a while!
I’ve heard of something called a signal repeater that apparently your position in a better position such as in a tree or just higher up somewhere. This then pings a stronger signal down to where you need it.
Does anyone out there have any experience of these?
Thanks
Dan
Logged
kdmnx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 365


« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2020, 12:01:27 PM »

A friend has one. It works well. He was getting annoyed with 2-factor authentication. Most things worked over broadband/wifi but if something sent a text and he had to type in a number he’d have to hunt for a signal.

You have to pay a few hundred £, and you have to have some sort of signal, but they do work.
Logged

12x JA Solar 340Wp panels (total 4080Wp)
Lux Power inverter charger
5x PylonTech 2000 2.4kWh batteries (total 12kWh (11kWh usable))
Bikerzz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 155


« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2020, 12:05:41 PM »

My Mum has the same from her employer. Again it plugs into your broadband router and gives you phone reception in your house to take calls. Its linked to 1 network only so only EE or orange works in my Mums house.
Logged

Triple Glazing.50mm CWI.
300L Telford TS
Oil Boiler, 2x3kw Immersions
12 Zone UFH 150mm Spacing
Rads Upstairs
titan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 551


« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2020, 08:10:36 PM »

https://www.stelladoradus.com/
Logged
rogeriko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1451



WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2020, 08:58:48 PM »

I have one from EE. They sell them for around 100 pounds but if you call and tell them you are leaving because of bad reception they will give you one for free. You just plug it into your router and it transmits calls and texts through the internet. I have good reception at home now so I carry it around with me in my van and when I am working at remote sites I just plug it in and get perfect reception. You have to register it with one EE phone number and then all EE phones can use it. There is a bunch of them on ebay going for less than £20 if they dont work call EE and tell them to register it to your number or you are leaving. Thats what I did four years ago and it works great.


* ee.jpg (181.5 KB, 1600x1066 - viewed 107 times.)
« Last Edit: September 15, 2020, 09:04:31 PM by rogeriko » Logged

Bodidly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556



« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2020, 07:33:39 PM »

We used to have a Sure Signal from Vodaphone which worked well but now use Wifi calling wich most networks now offer but need a newish handset
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!