navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address. Following continuous spam/hack attempts on the forum, "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Help...SMA Sunny Boy programming from PC  (Read 2272 times)
floydy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 22


« Reply #15 on: January 14, 2021, 12:13:30 PM »

Good stuff Graham,
I'm glad they still had one. I can't find that spare I had anywhere...

Andy
Logged
Bladerunner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #16 on: January 27, 2021, 04:26:28 PM »

Hi Andy

Well, I braved the icy weather yesterday.  The wind was rather low so I thought I would try this new RS232 and USB converter.  Managed to connect to my original Sunny Boy 2500 and download the curve and settings.  I then connected to the new inverter and successfully got the data to upload.

Both inverters are now tracking together and finally the system is working in harmony.

I think I might have a go at tweaking the power curve to see if I can improve on the energy delivered over the range of wind speeds.

I wonder if anyone has a good Voltage to Power curve for the Evance 5KW turbine to put into the inverter.  Unfortunaltey the data I have for the turbine is wind speed / power and not Voltage / power.

Ah well, very satisfied with the current setup.

Thanks ever so much for your help, I would still be fumbling in the dark without the support I found here.
Cheers.
 snow
Logged
floydy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 22


« Reply #17 on: January 29, 2021, 02:50:32 PM »

Well done! I was just thinking of you yesterday when I found that spare RS232 board (when not looking for it). Glad it's up and running. I have the an early ish pair of inverters with the evance curves on here I could download, but you would be best dropping a line to Britwind as they are still making the R9000 and might have a better curve.
Logged
Bladerunner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #18 on: February 01, 2021, 12:16:57 PM »

Hi Floydy,

Yes it's funny how things turn up when your not looking for them.  I would swear I have a potergeist behind me when I'm working on anything.  Just when I put a spanner or screwdriver down, he nips along and hides it. So I spend ages looking for it. Then he pops it back right where I left it.

I'll contact Britwind and see if they can supply a curve.  I have a curve with wind speeds but the curve needs to be entered as voltages, as you probably know.

I love how nothing is ever compatible with anything else.

Cheers.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!