navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Buried electrical cable  (Read 1996 times)
stephend
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 562



WWW
« on: September 12, 2008, 08:25:44 AM »

I'm trying to do some costing for various scenarios for powering a well pump which is 250m away from the nearest power source (and 100m down the well).  What sort of electrical cable could I use for 230V AC buried in the ground?  (Is there some electrical code word for the type of wire?)  And what would I need for 48VDC?
If you happen to know of online prices for said cable that would be even handier Smiley


Logged

northern installer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1494


« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2008, 08:43:08 AM »

you need 'xlpe swa' -steel wire armoured cable,but you need to work out the size from the length and current to give 4% or less volt drop.2 core is coded 6942x,3 core 6943x. The same class of cable will do for either voltage,but on these long runs,stick to 230v if possible,or the volt drop will dictate a huge cable!
Logged

"government scrappage scheme still available on Tardis trade ins (dont ask how we get around the deadline...)"
stephend
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 562



WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2008, 09:28:19 AM »

Thanks!  that's exactly the info I need.
Logged

guydewdney
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4321



« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2008, 09:48:27 AM »

you will be horrified at the cost of the cable new - I have wired in my polytunnel (pumps and stuff) using cable (new) sourced from the local scrappy. I cant remember if it is current colour codes - but as its protected by 3 separate RCDs (fusebox downstairs to fusebox up, fusebox up in house to fusebox in garage) Im not worried. You can buy epoxy sealing kits for joining SWA cable together from the likes of screwfix.....
Logged

Pic of wheel on day 1
7.2kW Waterwheel and 9.8kW PV
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!