navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: cable zizing AC  (Read 2248 times)
dodgy rog
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 123


« on: November 22, 2008, 06:57:57 PM »

hello anyone no a good site with cable sizing in AC chart or interactive? i need to calculate cable size from inverter to house 5k geni biggest output run is say 35metres?
Logged
Justme
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3531


« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2008, 07:51:20 PM »

If your 5k is KVA then 2.5mm2 if its 5kw the 4mm2 using 3 core swa XLPE

HERE

Justme
Logged

Navitron solar thermal system
30 x 58mm panel 259L TS
1200watts solar 120vdc
FX80 Solar controller
Victron 12v 3000w 120a
6kva genny
6 x 2v cells 1550amp/h 5C
24 x 2v cells 700amp/h 5C
Total bank 4350 amp/h 5C
tony.
Guest
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2008, 08:11:51 PM »

before you throw in some 2.5mm.
how is the cable installed, in a duct, in a wall, buried in insulation.

what is the protective device?
lots more questions!!
tony
Logged
dodgy rog
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 123


« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2008, 08:26:39 PM »

the cable is going to be carried across yard in the air bye steel cable the gen is 4.5kw max output and my inverter is 3kw
Logged
tony.
Guest
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2008, 08:32:43 PM »

in the air by steel cable-

Do you mean a cantenary wire suspended between two buildings?

if so what type of cable are you planning to use?
tony
Logged
dodgy rog
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 123


« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2008, 12:48:53 AM »

not shure may be 4mm steel cable the max run to hang is about 10m, but elec cable run is 30m
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!