navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Acer aspire one  (Read 1961 times)
petertc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 541



« on: November 25, 2009, 08:30:44 PM »

I am confused  wackoold
reading the specs this is a single core processor the model  is a ZG5.
How come when looking at the UNR ( ubuntu netbook Remix 9.10) system monitor it shows 2 processors. CPU Atom N270

Also i have just picked up an external usb power cdrw-dvd drive for it once installed the libdvdcss police it plays dvd's very smoothly.   
Logged
martin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 15733



WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2009, 08:48:46 PM »

could be a vagary of Ubuntu, my system monitor in 9.10 (karmic) only shows 2.7gb ram, but there is deffo 4mb................ Wink
Logged

Unpaid volunteer administrator and moderator (not employed by Navitron) - Views expressed are my own - curmudgeonly babyboomer! - http://www.farmco.co.uk
billt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 833


« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2009, 09:53:45 PM »

It's "Hyperthreaded" TM, so it looks like a dual core processor to the OS. A dual core Atom appears to have 4 cores.
Logged
stephend
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 562



WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2009, 09:59:43 PM »

could be a vagary of Ubuntu, my system monitor in 9.10 (karmic) only shows 2.7gb ram, but there is deffo 4mb................ Wink

A 32 Bit OS can only address 3Gb of RAM maximum.  The remaining 300Mb is probably shared with your graphics card. The 64 bit version of Ubuntu will give you access to all 4Gb.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!