navitron
 
Renewable Energy and Sustainability Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Anyone wishing to register as a new member on the forum is strongly recommended to use a "proper" email address - following recent spam/hack attempts on the forum, all security is set to "high", and "disposable" email addresses like Gmail, Yahoo and Hotmail tend to be viewed with suspicion, and the application rejected if there is any doubt whatsoever
 
Recent Articles: Navitron Partners With Solax to Help Create A More Sustainable Future | Navitron Calls for Increased Carbon Footprint Reduction In Light of Earth Overshoot Day | A plea from The David School - Issue 18
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 3ph timers  (Read 2410 times)
michiel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 187


Gaia


« on: January 23, 2010, 05:45:19 PM »

Does anyone know where I can get a 3ph timer?
A simple 24hr on/of controller, switching a 3ph, 850W pump.

I have spent the last hour ontnet, not found a single unit!

Michiel
Logged

11kW Gaia-wind, 3.85kW PV mounted on 3x trackers, Borehole fed 32kW GSHP, 10m^2 Flat plate Solar, 100x58mm (Navitron) ET's, 1000Lt heat store, WVO Lister CS CHP, WVO powered VW Caddy, 4 chickens and 3 ducks, (edit, ducks no more, taken by fox!)
knighty
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2786


« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2010, 05:56:52 PM »

just use a single phase one and then a 3 phase contactor Wink


get the contactor from ebay.... it'll be much cheaper !!!
(5ebay vs 90new)

something like THIS

it's just like a big relay....

power in at one end, power out at the other

then a negative connection
and a positive conection powered by your timer

:-)
« Last Edit: January 23, 2010, 05:59:02 PM by knighty » Logged
johnrae
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 764


« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2010, 06:37:28 PM »

Bear in mind that, if you use a single phase timer (230 volts) to drive the 3 phase contactor (415 volts), you'll need neutral supply.  The coil on the contactor could be either 415 volts or 230 volts.  If the latter then it'll also need a neutral supply.  Jack
Logged
michiel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 187


Gaia


« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2010, 06:50:11 PM »

So, if I get a 3ph (415V) contactor with a 230V coil, the Live + Neutral coming from the timer supply the coil.
Logged

11kW Gaia-wind, 3.85kW PV mounted on 3x trackers, Borehole fed 32kW GSHP, 10m^2 Flat plate Solar, 100x58mm (Navitron) ET's, 1000Lt heat store, WVO Lister CS CHP, WVO powered VW Caddy, 4 chickens and 3 ducks, (edit, ducks no more, taken by fox!)
johnrae
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 764


« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2010, 07:14:18 PM »

you've got it !
jack
Logged
michiel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 187


Gaia


« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2010, 07:17:07 PM »

Thanks Jack / Knighty

I've already got a timer, so should get job done for under 15. Great

Michiel Smiley
Logged

11kW Gaia-wind, 3.85kW PV mounted on 3x trackers, Borehole fed 32kW GSHP, 10m^2 Flat plate Solar, 100x58mm (Navitron) ET's, 1000Lt heat store, WVO Lister CS CHP, WVO powered VW Caddy, 4 chickens and 3 ducks, (edit, ducks no more, taken by fox!)
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!